en pl
Alpine Newt phot. Cezary Cwikowski

Alpine Newt phot. Cezary Cwikowski

See more photos ]

Natura 2000

Natural habitats in the Magura National Park

Special Areas of  Conservation are designated under the Habitats Directive (Council Directive 92/43/EEC of 21 May 1992 on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora). The rules of creation of SPAs and types of habitats,  animals and plants species for which Natura 2000 areas are to be created are designated under the Minister for Environment directive of 16 May 2005 on types of natural habitats and plants and animals species needing  protection as Natura 2000 areas .

Natural habitat is a new term in nature protection. It is a terrestrial or aquatic area distinguished by geographic, abiotic and biotic features, whether entirely natural or semi-natural.

Priority natural habitat types means natural habitat types in danger of disappearance, which are present on the EU territory and for the conservation of which the Community has particular responsibility in view of the proportion of their natural range which falls within the EU territory; these priority natural habitat types are indicated by an asterisk (*).

« prev | page 2 of 8 | next »